Tomatoes Spectacular!

September 18, 2009 at 6:20 pm (Vegetables)

DSC00147I don’t think anyone in California has a bad experience with tomatoes! Though I was tempted to grow from seed, I purchased 20 seedlings in May. May is a month when the hardware and nurseries drum up a fever pitch of tomato plant sales. I bought a number of types, ranging from beef steak (my favorite) to cherry tomatoes. Tomatoes will grow in almost any soil. But they are high nitorgen consumers, so will deplete the soil. As soil is depleted, the fruit grows smaller and smaller. However, they will keep producing all summer long, and my plants have been churning out tomatoes daily for over three months. I expect them to faithfully produce for another month, into October. My only warning, large tomatoes will tend to bend vines down to the ground. If tomatoes touch earth, watch out for slugs and other critters. Make sure your prize tomatoes are off the ground. I placed a number on top of styrofoam cups just to keep slugs away. Slugs will fiesta once the fruit turns from green to red. So ‘watch out’.

DSC00132Tomatoes are a great staple crop. They like daily watering otherwise the leaves begin to curl, and if water the vines will grow and grow. They did best along my livestock-wire fence. As vines get heavy with fruit, they can break, so be sure they plant as necessary support. I would also plant your tomato seedlings about three feet apart. Beef steak plants get very large, so maybe four to five feet there. I recently installed a drip irrigation system, placing outlets at the foot of each tomato plant. This has made watering pure ‘cake’. Will share some pixs on my water system soon! Will do the tomatoes again next year once the soil is replenished with bunny droppings, etc. .

1 Comment

  1. JimmyBean said,

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

