Trinitytide

June 16, 2010 at 4:52 pm (Pilgrimage)

Greetings in the name of Bunny Revolution!

the coming betrothal

Perhaps trinitytide is too long a season to give a single post. But, given I haven’t kept up this blog perhaps it’s for the best. I had to replace a digital camera but also just plain busy. I have some big events coming up.  I will be getting married August 14th (we were engaged on the Saturday before the first Sunday in Advent). The marriage service is scheduled for the morning before the vigil of St. Mary, and the TEC priest is letting me pick the liturgy for Amanda and myself. I am using the 1928 ‘blended’ into the same antecommunion. The sermon will be a slightly edited homily given for marriage in the 1662 w/ some Jeremy Taylor mixed in and a portion of the bidding prayer from 1928. The vows are unequal, also from 1662. We have dual rings, kept the blessing of the rings, and I took the third exhortation (a bit shortened) from 1928 between the whole church prayer and confession. I really love this exhortation, and we will have several Reformed friends there (two pastors)  along with unchurch family members we’d like to see evangelized. Amanda is excited about the reception and ceremony too. Her grandma and she picked the hymns, ‘O perfect Love’, and ‘St. Magaret’. We’ve also added Ps. 128 from the Geneva psalter.

The nupital mass will include propers I plan to write for St. Mary. The blessed Virgin is a great role model for chastity of spirit as well as pregnancy and child-birth. I’d like the families and single-folk to be both exposed to her godly example in the prayers. Given the date of the service and importance children to us, a saturday votive mass to recall Mary seems appropriate. Amanda and I have already talked about children. If we have a girl, Paulette Jean Bartlett (after her aunt, RIP). If a boy, James Conrad Bartlett (after my father).  Amanda is very much looking forward to pregnancy and kids, and we are already putting money aside for diapers.

Back to the details of this nupital mass: We’re trying to stick to rubrics as described by Dearmer, but this might be too much for the TEC priest (he’s an ’emerger’) to crash-study. We expect an APA priest and deacon to help. In know…too much detail, but for liturgical folk who visit, you might find it interesting. Keep us all in your prayers! We have many financial problems. I also need prayers to pass the CSET test for teaching high school mathematics.

this year's summer garden

Meanwhile the garden this year had a late start. My first growth of beets got ransacked by pill bugs. These hungry little critters just multiplied in my compost box, and I unfortunately planted seed on the same day I mixed the compost into the garden soil. This was a mistake, and I lost everything. I also had a lot of old seed mixed into new. My advice with compost– if you have an open box, you will have lots of bugs. Give a week or two for the bugs in the compost to scatter about before planting. Water your tilled garden soil down during that period. The bugs love loose soil, living under dirt clods. If you periodically water, the smaller clods turn to mud. Feel free to sew then, but don’t use old store seed. My store seed was good only for 6 months after opening the package. The other solution to avoid infestations of bugs is buy a closed compost barrel. This will prove hotter than an open box, you can flip the barrel, and you’ll get better compost.

In the end, I was scared of the bugs, so I went back to using planter trays rather than sew for my first ‘crop’, then transferring the seedlings by hand. I much prefer broadcasting seed. The tilled soil (by mattock not tiller) also produced some surprises. The compost had a lot of fruit seed mixed inside plus vegies from last season, giving rise to some volunteers. I now have a half-dozen peach seedlings with some kale and corn coming up. Not much, but a surprise!

notice the difference in drip lines-- one wet, the other dry

Another footnote might be to spend a little more money on your drip irrigation hoses. I went with the ‘sponge’, continuous drip kind, but the six-inch (spaced holes) hose is far better. The sponge gets clogged with dust and mud, and pretty soon they just stop working. They are about three dollars cheaper than the hard plastic, but not worth it. In the long run you end up replacing them with new lines.

This summer I have 37 tomato plants growing. The ring around the garden. Many of them are cherry and ace, however, but several are steak. Tomatoes in this part of CA do very well. They grew last year well into December before it got cold enough to turn the vines to ‘slime’. When cold hits this is what happens– 40 below. And, we had tomatoes daily. This year we have ten more plants, so it should be bountiful. I also discovered the wonders of Kale. I plan to post a special kale devotional soon. It’s such a great plant. It could save the world. Of course, we got beets, chard, and collards– all easy growing and sun hardy plants. I will be adding some broccoli seedlings this week too.

trouble-making bunny in garden

I’ve gotten a number of emails asking about the bunnies. The bunnies are doing great! Mommy bunny has a slight growth that I am worried about. They are all fat. They look like circular balls with tiny legs that hop. And I never realized how social bunnies are. They love to groom one another, and are soo cute. I can’t believe I was going to breed these animals for meat. Don’t tell the Fremont bunny club! St. Francis day is coming soon, and we’ll take our pets for blessings. Lastly, the county fair is coming, so Amanda and I will be buying two hens. I am putting in the foundation for a racoon-proof chicken coop this weekend. I wish I talked about this during Rogation week. oh well… I will document the coop here. Any suggested chicken names?

Ave Maria

I’ve also been thinking about the merits of Kingdomtide as a liturgical season. NT Wright feels Kingdomtide and Christ the King are unnecessary, robbing the theme from Advent. But the length of Trinitytide probably has much to do with having no major festival aside from All Saints. Part of this is due to eliminating the  festival of the Assumption. This would have been the primary summer festival? I understand and agree with the reasons for such censorship, but modern TEC’s have replaced the Assumption with a more generic day of remembrance for St. Mary. I think this is proper, and given she’s one of the greatest biblical saints, it stands to reason.  But the Kingdom is not only marked by the bride, but also by the body of Christ or his many saints (hence, All Saints). Therefore, a kingdomtide beginning with the Vigil of St. Mary and ending on the last octave of All Saints seems reasonable. That leaves one week before the beginning of pre-Avent season– the original 40 day fast before Christmas– either omitting or fixing Christ the King there. I am trying to find a season to match the OT tempo of ‘Tabernacles’ (i.e, the body or tent of Christ). Perhaps my next post will be on this hypothetical ‘kingdomtide’?  And, I guess the proposal for new/reformed holy days (memorials of Anglican saints like King Charles or Kingdomtide, for example) usually have their start locally. What is interesting is how such irregular feasts can also define locality… ? PAX  🙂

Leave a Reply

